Skip to content

2022 Prize for Teaching Excellence

2021 Grand Prize Winners

Derek Wray

Automotive & Diesel Technology

Salem High School, VA

2021 Prize Winners

Jay Abitz

Automotive & Collision Repair

Freedom High School, WI

Brian Copes

Construction & Manufacturing

Chickasaw High School, AL

John Lockhart

Agricultural Mechanics, Structures & Equipment Repair

South Harrison High School, WV

Andrew Saweikis


Rockland Board of Cooperative Educational Services Career and Technical Education Center, NY

Eric Wagaman


Franklin County Career and Technology Center, PA

Gary Weese

Automotive Technology

Caddo Career & Technology Center, LA

Brian Welch

Agricultural Mechanics

Madisonville North Hopkins High School, KY

2022 Finalists

Jeff Bearinger


Lumpkin County High School – Dahlonega, GA

Dallas Bergstrom


Miller Career & Technology Center – Katy, TX

Andrew Bias


Folsom High School
– Folsom, CA

Jason Blackwell

Industrial Maintenance

Escambia Career Readiness Center – Brewton, AL

Matt Blomquist


Taylorville High School – Taylorville, IL

Ashton Bohling

Industrial Technology

Johnson Brock High School – Johnson, NE

Joshua Bowles


Alexander Central High School – Taylorsville, NC 

Anthony Christian

Metal Fabrication & Manufacturing

Arrowhead Union High School – Hartland, WI

Kevin Cornell

Automotive Technology

Carver Career and Technical Center – Charleston, WV

Bill Culver

Construction & Carpentry

Evergreen High School – Vancouver, WA

Derek Dagesse


Assabet Valley Regional Vocational High School – Marlborough, MA

Taylor Donnelly

Agricultural Mechanics

Sheridan High School – Sheridan, AR

Aaron Ervin


Pike Lincoln Technical Ceter – Eolia, MO

Kevin Finan


Atlantic Technical College & Technical High School – Coconut Creek, FL

Joe Gabardi

Industrial Technology

Nashwauk-Keewatin ISD #319 – Nashwauk, MN

Daniel Granato

Industrial Technology

Adirondack High School – Boonville, NY

Coty Green

Automotive Service Technology

Chisholm Trail Tech Center – Omega, OK

Tim Hagar


Burlington County Institute of Technology – Medford, NJ

Glenn Harrison


Dr. Martin Luther King Early College – Denver, CO 

Laurie Hilderbrand


Soquel High School – Soquel, CA

Seth Hungerford

Construction Technology

Cold Hollow Career Center – Enosburg Falls, VT

Blair Jensen


Jordan Academy for Technology & Careers – Riverton, UT

Kristie Jones

Construction & Carpentry

Franklin County Career and Technical Center – Meadville, MS

Clint Kobelt


Fort Madison Community School District – Fort Madison, IA

Brian Kuntz

Industrial Technology

Dexter High School – Dexter, KS

Andrew Lamer


Mingus Union High School – Cottonwood, AZ

Brian McDonnell

Automotive Collision Repair

GST BOCES Coopers Education Center – Painted Post, NY

Doug Merrill

Advanced Manufacturing

Wenatchee High School – Wenatchee, WA

Jared Monroe

Automotive Technology

Columbia Area Career Center – Columbia, MO

David Moye

Automotive Service Technology

Lyman High School – Longwood, FL

Michael Murphy

Plumbing & HVAC

Central Campus-Des Moines Public Schools – Des Moines, IA

Chris Pilling


Burrillville High School – Burrillville, RI

Nikolas Sanchez

Precision Machining and Manufacturing

Tucson High Magnet School – Tucson, AZ

Mike Schmidt

Advanced Manufacturing

University High School – Tucson, AZ

Desi Severance

Agricultural Mechanics

Southeast Region Career and Technology Center – Wyndmere, ND

Mark Simmons

Automotive & Diesel Technology

Springfield High School – Springfield, OR 

Brian Sneed

Automotive Maintenance and Light Repair

Cordova High School – Cordova, TN

Leif Sorgule

Industrial Technology

Peru Central School – Peru, NY

John Stratton

Automotive Technology

Oneida-Herkimer-Madison BOCES – New Hartford, NY

Todd Swan


Franklin County Career and Technology Center – Chambersburg, PA 

Miles Tokheim

Automotive Technology

James Madison Memorial High School – Madison, WI

Austin Thorson

Automotive Technology

Elkhorn Area High School – Elkhorn, WI

Cory Torppa

Construction & Manufacturing

Kalama High School – Kalama, WA

Andrice Tucker

Automotive Service Technology

Central Nine Career Center – Greenwood, IN

Dan Van Boxtel

Automotive Technology

Kaukauna High School – Kaukauna, WI

Jim Van Bladel

Automotive Technology

John Hersey High School – Arlington Heights, IL

Kenneth Waite, Jr.

Plumbing & Construction

DW Waters Career Center – Tampa, FL

Jeffrey Webb


Southern Michigan Center for Science and Industry – Hudson, MI

Jeff Wilson

Agricultural Mechanics

Veterans High School – Kathleen, GA

Adam Wood

Metal Fabrication

Bettye Davis East Anchorage High School – Anchorage, AK


2021 Final Round Judges

Cheryl Carrier

Executive Director

Ford Next Generation Learning

Shaun Dougherty

Associate Professor of Public Policy & Education

Vanderbilt University Peabody College of Education & Human Development

Teresa Gerton

President and CEO

National Academy of Public Administration

Peyton Holland

Executive Director

National Technical Honor Society

Nike Irvin

Managing Director

Civil Society Fellowship

Jessica Ku Kim

VP of Economic and Workforce Development

Los Angeles Economic Development Corporation

Alicia Lara

President & CEO

Community Partners

Brian Law



Jennifer Maher

CEO & Executive Director

Tech Force Foundation

Brian Manley

2020 Grand Prize Winner

Cherry Creek Innovation Campus (CO)

Kathryn Worley

2020 Grand Prize Winner

West Hills High School (CA)

Dan Belcher

Director of Workforce Development

National Center for Construction Education and Research; Build Your Future

Elyse Burden


Real World Scholars

Dr. Mittie Cannon


Power UP Inc.

Monica Pfarr

Executive Director

American Welding Society Foundation


2021 Round 2 Judges

Alfia Anderson

2020 Prize Winner

Chet Andes

SkillsUSA Idaho

Matthew Barbercheck

2018 Prize Winner

Shawn Burns

2020 Prize Winner

Sarah Burtner

City of Seattle

Joe Campbell

Glendale High School

Robert Caylor

2020 Prize Winner

Gerald Chaleff

LA Police Department (Retired) 

Oscar Cruz

Community Leader

Beth Duffield

Rutherford County Chamber of Commerce 

Mireya Eavey

Mireya Eavey Company

Zach Fields


Ed Hughes

2017 Prize Winner

Vivian Jeffcoat

Emily Griffith Technical College

Dennis Johnson

2019 Prize Winner

Henrietta Jutson

2019 Prize Winner

Irma Livadic

Entertainment Industry Foundation

Karen Mack

LA Commons

Branka Minic

Building Talent Foundation

Andrew Murphy

Leadership for Educational Equity

Jennifer Park

Results for America

Eboney Pearson

Los Angeles Job Corps Center

Troy Reichert

2019 Prize Winner

Paola Santana

Lumina Foundation

Natalia Sifuentes


Chad Sutton

2020 Prize Winner

Nicole Taylor

2020 Prize Winner

Brent Tuttle

2020 Prize Winner

Cindia Velasco

NALEO Educational Fund

Peter Wachtel

2019 Prize Winner

David White

2017 Prize Winner

Demetrius Wilson

2020 Prize Winner

John Yi

LA Walks

2021 Round 1 Judges

A special thanks to our colleagues at the Association of Career and Technical Education (ACTE) for their stewardship of this Round.