Skip to content

2021 Prize for Teaching Excellence

2021 Grand Prize Winners

Derek Wray

Automotive & Diesel Technology

Salem High School, VA

2021 Prize Winners

Jay Abitz

Automotive & Collision Repair

Freedom High School, WI

Brian Copes

Construction & Manufacturing

Chickasaw High School, AL

John Lockhart

Agricultural Mechanics, Structures & Equipment Repair

South Harrison High School, WV

Andrew Saweikis


Rockland Board of Cooperative Educational Services Career and Technical Education Center, NY

Eric Wagaman


Franklin County Career and Technology Center, PA

Gary Weese

Automotive Technology

Caddo Career & Technology Center, LA

Brian Welch

Agricultural Mechanics

Madisonville North Hopkins High School, KY

2021 Finalists

John Amos


William Chrisman High School – Independence, MO

Angela Arnett

Technical Theatre

Escondido High School – Escondido, CA

Dallas Bergstrom

Manufacturing & Mechatronics

Miller Career & Technology Center – Katy, TX

Brian Bettag

Transportation Mechanics and Repair

Jefferson High School – Lafayette, IN

Matt Blomquist


Taylorville High School – Taylorville, IL

Ashton Bohling

Industrial Technology

Johnson Brock High School – Johnson, NE

Kent Brady

Small Engine Equipment Technology

Dauphin County Technical School – Harrisburg, PA 

Donald Brown

Automotive Technology

El Diamante High School – Visalia, CA

Lee Caughron


Grand River Technical School – Chillicothe, MO

Christopher Comer

Aviation & Aviation Manufacturing

T. Wingate Andrews High School – High Point, NC

Dave Darden

Automotive Technology

Cedar Shoals High School – Athens, GA

Richie del Puerto

Automotive Technology

Sno-Isle TECH Skills Center – Everett, WA

Josh Dickson


Cape Henlopen High School – Lewes, DE

Greg Ditch

Automotive Technology

Naperville North High School – Naperville, IL

Corey Dixon

Agricultural Mechanics

Pulaski County High School – Somerset, KY

Kevin Finan


Atlantic Technical College & Technical High School – Coconut Creek, FL 

Coty Green

Automotive Technology

Chisholm Trail Tech Center – Omega, OK

Jay Hales

Automotive Technology

Riverton High School – Riverton, UT

Danielle Hamilton

Automotive Technology

Sidney Lanier High School – San Antonio, TX

Glenn Harrison


Dr. Martin Luther King Early College – Denver, CO 

Jorge Huizar

Agricultural Mechanics

Hennessey Schools – Hennessey, OK

Seth Hungerford

Construction Technology

Cold Hollow Career Center – Enosburg Falls, VT

Blair Jensen


Jordan Academy for Technology & Careers – South – Riverton, UT

Kristie Jones

Construction & Carpentry

Franklin County Career and Technical Center (MS) – Meadville, MS

Matthew Kasten


Capital Area Career Center – Springfield, IL

Jody Kemp

Agricultural Mechanics

Peach County High School – Fort Valley, GA

David Mackey

Power Sports & Equipment

Wexford Missaukee Career Technical Center – Cadillac, MI

Ian Matje

Diesel Technology

FutureForward at Washington Square – Thornton, CO

Brian McDonnell

Automotive Collision Repair

GST BOCES Coopers Education Center- Painted Post, NY

Erik Mortensen

Automotive Technology

Watauga High School – Boone, NC

David Moye

Automotive Maintenance and Light Repair

Lyman High School – Longwood, FL

Rodney Presley


Lanier College & Career Academy – Gainesville, GA

Don Seehusen

Industrial Technology

Schuyler Central High School – Schuyler, NE

Teanna Simpson

Agricultural Mechanics

Thayer High School – Thayer, MO

Don Stock

Automotive Technology

Wichita North High School – Wichita, KS

John Stratton

Automotive Technology

Oneida-Herkimer-Madison BOCES – New Hartford, NY 

Jeremy Tarbet

Automotive Technology

Canyon del Oro High School – Tucson, AZ

Robert Watkins

Automotive Technology

The Center of Applied Sciences and Technology – Bolivia, NC

Jeffrey Webb


Southern Michigan Center for Science and Industry – Hudson, MI

Robbie Wise

Aviation Maintenance Technology

Tulsa Technology Center – Tulsa, OK 

Adam Wood

Metal Fabrication

Bettye Davis East Anchorage High School – Anchorage, AK

Wes York

Agricultural Mechanics

Caldwell County High School – Princeton, KY

Breanna Youngberg


Cascade High School – Everett, WA


2021 Final Round Judges

Cheryl Carrier

Executive Director

Ford Next Generation Learning

Shaun Dougherty

Associate Professor of Public Policy & Education

Vanderbilt University Peabody College of Education & Human Development

Teresa Gerton

President and CEO

National Academy of Public Administration

Peyton Holland

Executive Director

National Technical Honor Society

Nike Irvin

Managing Director

Civil Society Fellowship

Jessica Ku Kim

VP of Economic and Workforce Development

Los Angeles Economic Development Corporation

Alicia Lara

President & CEO

Community Partners

Brian Law



Jennifer Maher

CEO & Executive Director

Tech Force Foundation

Brian Manley

2020 Grand Prize Winner

Cherry Creek Innovation Campus (CO)

Kathryn Worley

2020 Grand Prize Winner

West Hills High School (CA)

Dan Belcher

Director of Workforce Development

National Center for Construction Education and Research; Build Your Future

Elyse Burden


Real World Scholars

Dr. Mittie Cannon


Power UP Inc.

Monica Pfarr

Executive Director

American Welding Society Foundation


2021 Round 2 Judges

Alfia Anderson

2020 Prize Winner

Chet Andes

SkillsUSA Idaho

Matthew Barbercheck

2018 Prize Winner

Shawn Burns

2020 Prize Winner

Sarah Burtner

City of Seattle

Joe Campbell

Glendale High School

Robert Caylor

2020 Prize Winner

Gerald Chaleff

LA Police Department (Retired) 

Oscar Cruz

Community Leader

Beth Duffield

Rutherford County Chamber of Commerce 

Mireya Eavey

Mireya Eavey Company

Zach Fields


Ed Hughes

2017 Prize Winner

Vivian Jeffcoat

Emily Griffith Technical College

Dennis Johnson

2019 Prize Winner

Henrietta Jutson

2019 Prize Winner

Irma Livadic

Entertainment Industry Foundation

Karen Mack

LA Commons

Branka Minic

Building Talent Foundation

Andrew Murphy

Leadership for Educational Equity

Jennifer Park

Results for America

Eboney Pearson

Los Angeles Job Corps Center

Troy Reichert

2019 Prize Winner

Paola Santana

Lumina Foundation

Natalia Sifuentes


Chad Sutton

2020 Prize Winner

Nicole Taylor

2020 Prize Winner

Brent Tuttle

2020 Prize Winner

Cindia Velasco

NALEO Educational Fund

Peter Wachtel

2019 Prize Winner

David White

2017 Prize Winner

Demetrius Wilson

2020 Prize Winner

John Yi

LA Walks

2021 Round 1 Judges

A special thanks to our colleagues at the Association of Career and Technical Education (ACTE) for their stewardship of this Round.