Skip to content

2019 Prize for Teaching Excellence

2019 Semifinalists

Thomas Aubin


Clinton-Essex-Warren-Washington Board of Cooperative Educational Services, NY

Andrew Bias

Industrial Technology

Folsom High School, CA

Robert Brightbill


Dauphin County Technical School, PA

Roy Campbell

Agriculture Mechanics

Derry High School, PA

Mike Campanile, Mike Schweinsberg

Welding and Masonry

Carroll County Career and Technology Center, MD

Francis Carlson

Cabinet Making and Millwork

Bonners Ferry High School, ID

Robert Caylor, Scott Pfaff

Automotive Service Technician

Gulfport High School, MS

Anthony Christian

Manufacturing and Engineering

Arrowhead Union High School, WI

Ken Cox

Automotive Technology

Redwood High School, CA

Eric Dyer

Agriculture Mechanics

Woodland High School, CA

Eric Fisher

Industrial Technology

Hamilton Heights High School, IN

David Gibson

Precision Metal Manufacturing

Caprock High School, TX

Stephen Glasder


Harvard High School, IL

Cesar Gutierrez

Precision Manufacturing

Desert View High School, AZ

J. Heather Handler

Manufacturing and Machining

Mount Pleasant High School, DE

Coley Hanes

Agriculture Construction and Small Engines

Schuyler R-1 Schools, MO

Adam Irwin, Nate Burton

Building Trades and Electrical Technology

Portage Lakes Career Center, OH

Beth James

Vocational Agriculture

Cory-Rawson High School, OH

Blair Jensen

Welding and Agriculture Mechanics

Jordan Academy for Technology and Careers, UT

Dennis Johnson

Transportation Technology

Fallbrook Union High School, CA

Henrietta Jutson

Integrated Systems Technology

Jack Britt High School, NC

David Kontz

HVAC and Welding

Barack Obama School of Career and Technical Education, WI

Jodi Lancaster


Livingston Area Career Center, IL

Jacob Leair


Grants Pass High School, OR

David Lilly

Automotive Technology

Portsmouth High School, NH

Stephen Marsh

Manufacturing and Welding

Juan Rodriguez Cabrillo High School, CA

Joel Massarello


Oakland Schools Technical Campus Northwest, MI

Mark Meyer

Industrial/Agricultural Education

Marion High School, KS

David Moye

Automotive Maintenance and Light Repair

Lyman High School, FL

Jared Monroe

Automotive Technology

Columbia Area Career Center, MO

Morgan Perry

Agriculture Mechanics

Bear River High School, CA

Troy Reichert

Industrial Technology

Guernsey-Sunrise Public High School, WY

Derek Rowe

Aviation Maintenance

McGavock High School, TN

Wendy Schepman

Landscape Operations

South Fork High School, FL

Brian Sheward

Welding and Fabrication

Springfield-Clark Career Technology Center, OH

Chad Sutton

Construction and Manufacturing

Garrett High School, IN

Jeremy Tarbet

Automotive Technology

Canyon del Oro High School, AZ

Michael Towne

Electrical Wiring and Construction

Dr. James A. Forrest Career and Technology Center, MD

Brent Trankler


Sikeston Career and Technology Center, MO

Brent Tuttle


La Mirada High School, CA

Mark Valchine II


Pioneer High School, MI

Wayne Violet

Automotive Technology

Washington County Technical High School, MD

Peter Wachtel

Product Innovation and Architecture

Adolfo Camarillo High School, CA

Adam Wallingford


Mason County Career Magnet School, KY

Jeff Webb, Youko Peterson, Jennifer Mason


Southern Michigan Center for Science and Industry, MI

Baxter Weed

Automotive Technology

Cold Hollow Career Center, VT

Chris Weeks

Construction Management

Bentonville High School, AR

Demetrius Wilson

Mechatronics and Manufacturing

Oakland Schools Technical Campus Northeast, MIĀ 

Kathryn Worley

Advanced Manufacturing and Woodworking

West Hills High School, CA

Jarred Wyatt

Industrial Equipment Maintenance

Siloam Springs High School, AR

2019 Learning Modules

Play Video

Learning Module 1:

Igniting the Passion of Skilled Trades Students

Play Video

Learning Module 2:

Turning the Skilled Trades Classroom into a Business

Play Video

Learning Module 3:

Marketing Skilled Trades to the College Bound

Play Video

Learning Module 4:

Inspiring Skilled Trades Students to be Future Focused

2019 Readings

Reading #1

25 Ways to Institute Passion-Based Learning in the Classroom

Reading #2

Inspiring Skilled Trades Students to be Future Focused

Reading #3

Realignment and Relevance: CTE Programs and Generation Z

Reading #4

5 Ways to Teach Students to be Future-Ready