Skip to content

2018 Prize for Teaching Excellence

Honoring Outstanding U.S. Public High School Skilled Trades Teachers

$1 Million in Prize Awards

2018 Grand Prize Winners

Andrew J. Neumann

Building Trades

Bay Arenac Intermediate School District Career Center, MI

2018 Prize Winners

Adam Bourne

Carpentry and Electrical

The NET Charter High School, LA

Jeff Cesari

Power Equipment Technology

Bucks County Technical High School, PA

Brad DeMent

Welding and Sheet Metal Fabrication

Delaware Area Career Center, OH

Matt Erbach

Precision Manufacturing

Streamwood High School, IL

Melissa Hageman

STEM Agriculture Mechanics and Engineering

South Winneshiek High School, IA

Ron Martinez

Heavy Equipment Diesel Technology

Dennis Technical Education Center, ID

Joshua Overman

Carpentry and Advanced Manufacturing

New Orleans Charter Science & Math High School, LA

Jerry Webb

Manufacturing, Electrical, and Plumbing Systems

Chattanooga Central High School, TN

2018 Finalists

Alex Adkisson, Tracy Csavina, Adam Rieter, Jane Wiater

AMPED (Manufacturing and Business)

Green Mountain High School, CO

Thomas Aubin



David Black

Advanced Manufacturing and Engineering

Clark Magnet High School, CA

Kenneth Bowlus

Automotive Collision/Customization

Warren Tech, CO

Timothy Brown, Gary Coy, Eddie Martinez, Early Murray, William Terry

Transportation CTE Cluster

South Tech Academy, FL

Shawn Burns


Burton Center for Arts and Technology, VA

Robert Caylor & Scott Pfaff

Automotive Service Technician

Gulfport High School, MS

Travis Crate


Venango Technology Center, PA

Lucus Fletcher, George Rosenblad, Antonio Shelley, John Ward, Steve Waters

Architecture, Construction, Transportation

Houston County Career Academy, GA

Jim Hoover & Brian Evans

Construction Trades Technology

Heartland Career Center, IN

Dennis Johnson

Transportation Technology

Fallbrook Union High School, CA

Nicholas Jordan


Montecito High School, CA

Henrietta Jutson

 Integrated Systems Technology

Jack Britt High School, NC

David Kontz

Welding, Manufacturing, HVAC

Barack Obama School of Career and Technical Education, WI

Peter Krause

Construction Technology

Tri-Cities ROP at California High School, CA

Brian Kuntz

Industrial Technology

Dexter High School, KS

Tina M. LeBlanc-Zombor

Building Trades

Lincoln Park High School, MI

David McMillen

Building Trades

West Holmes High School, OH

Jeff Merker

Building Trades

Sheldon High School, CA

Steve Owen & Andrice Tucker

Automotive Service Technology

Central Nine Career Center, IN

Troy Reichert

Industrial Technology

Guernsey-Sunrise Public School, WY

Wendy Schepman

Landscape Operations

South Fork High School, FL

Todd Sedlacek

Machine Trades

Central Westmoreland CTC, PA

Michael Shallenberger

Engines, Electronics, Manufacturing

STEM School Highlands Ranch, CO

Malcolm Stalcup


John Hinds Career Center, IN

Samuel Steadman

Fine Metalworking and Jewelry Production

Mountain View High School, UT

John Stratton

Automotive Technology


Seth Thomas

Woodworking and Metalworking

Cedarcrest High School, WA

Brent Trankler


Sikeston Career and Technology Center, MO

Molly Turner

Wood Manufacturing Technologies

Ignacio High School, CO

Peter Wachtel

Product Design and Architecture

Adolfo Camarillo High School, CA

Eric Wagaman

Building Construction Trades

Franklin County Career and Technology Center, PA

David Weaver

Auto Collision Repair

Kershaw County School District Applied Technology Education Center, SC

Travis Wyrick

Agriculture Mechanics

Ann Sobrato High School, CA

2018 Final Round Judges

Dan Belcher

Director of Workforce Development

National Center for Construction Education and Research; Build Your Future

Carey Chen


American Welding Society

Sarah Heath

Associate Provost

Colorado Community College System

Dr. Terry Holliday

Board Chairman

National Board for Professional Teaching Standards

Bob Kilmer

2017 Grand Prize Winner

Enumclaw High School (WA)

Kayleen McCabe

Contractor, TV Host, Advocate for Trades Education

McCabe Foundation

Ivana Nunez

Electrical Teacher

Queens Vocational and Technical High School (NY)

Phenna Petty

Career Technical and Agriculture (CTAE) Director (Retired)

Murray County (GA) Schools

Beau Pollock

President and CEO

TRIO Electric

Gina Riggs

Past President (2017-2018)


Ryan Smith

Chief External Officer

Partnership for Los Angeles Schools

Cheri Walsh

Executive Director

Exploring the Arts

2018 Round 2 Judges

Roxanne Amiot

2017 Prize Winner

Kimberly Bertocci

National Board for Professional Teaching Standards

Elyse Burden

Real World Scholars

Sarah Burtner

California Department of Finance

Gerald Chaleff

Los Angeles Police Department (Ret.)

Jason Drake

Workroom Program Alliance

Eric Hill


Dave Huffman

2017 Prize Winner

Chris Ko

United Way of Greater Los Angeles

Anita Landecker


Tana Lee

Richland School District One (SC)

Margaret Lester

Registered Nurse Practitioner (Ret.)

Scott Mayotte

2017 Prize Winner

Amanda Nolasco

Phoenix Union School District

Stephanie Owen

National Wood Flooring Association

David Tiensvold

CoorsTek Inc.

Patrick Wadsworth

2017 Prize Winner

Randy Williamson

2017 Prize Winner

2018 Round 1 Judges

A special thanks to our colleagues at the Association of Career and Technical Education (ACTE) for their stewardship of this Round.

Alex Gromada

Southern Illinois Carpenters Joint Apprenticeship Program

Barb Schult

Linn-Mar School District (IA)

Bob Baird

Independent Electrical Contractors Association

Candice Mott

DC Public Schools

Colleen Kennehan

Savannah-Chatham County Public Schools (GA)

Dan Smith

Minnesota Department of Education

Dawn Lindsley


Debbie Moore

Deer Valley Unified School District (AZ)

Dean Baker

Francis Tuttle Career Tech Center (OK)

Dennis Harden

Missouri Department of Education

Gary Moore

North Carolina State University (ret.)

H. Roger Fulk

Wright State University

Heather Singmaster

Asia Society

Jan Bray

Bray Strategies

Jeff Travers

Butler Technical Center (OH)

Jill Ranucci

Manor Independent School District (TX)

Jon Quatman

Great Oaks Career Campuses (OH)

Kathy Cullen

Wisconsin Technical College System (WI)

Kelly Almond

Fulton County Schools (GA)

Kimberly Mitchell

Talladega County Schools (AL)

Maggie Hess

Ohio CTE Administrators Association

Martha Rotman Snider


Mary Jo Self

Oklahoma State University

Michele Macfarlane

College of Southern Idaho

Rachael Mann


Rebecca Pierce

Alabama ACTE

Robin McLean

Northern Burlington County Regional Middle School (MD)

Rod Boyes

Today’s Class

Ross Arnold

California ACTE (ret.)

Sherry Adrian

Francis Tuttle Career Tech Center (OK)

Toby Klinger

Johnson County Community College (KS)

Warren Lupson

Partnership for Air Conditioning, Heating, & Refrigeration Accreditation

Wayne Kutzer

North Dakota Department of Career and Technical Education (ret.)