Skip to content

National Webinar Series on Excellence in Skilled Trades Education

In the fall of 2022, we started a new national webinar series. Our first two webinars featured presentations by past winners of the Harbor Freight Tools for Schools Prize for Teaching Excellence. We have two new webinars planned for spring of 2023.

Our first 2023 webinar is coming up soon.

Mobile Training: Meeting Next Gen Skilled Trades Students Where They Are
Tuesday, February 7, 2023
6 p.m. Eastern, 5 p.m. Central, 4 p.m. Mountain, 3 p.m. Pacific

Learn how low-cost mobile training can expand and update skilled trades programs while multiplying the number of students eager to enroll in high school skilled trades pathways. Attendees will hear from exemplary schools that plan to team academic subjects and CTE teachers to implement mobile skilled trades modules in multiple settings and states.

Register Now

Please save the date for our second spring webinar in April:

Transform Your Skilled Trades Classroom into a Business
Tuesday, April 25, 2023
6 p.m. Eastern, 5 p.m. Central, 4 p.m. Mountain, 3 p.m. Pacific

Watch Our Past Webinars

Our webinars from last fall are available for viewing at the links below.

Contextual Learning: Techniques to Break Down Siloed, Disconnected Learning (10/18/2022)
Summary: Does learning happen in isolated silos at your school where one subject rarely connects to another? During our first national webinar, learn how Scott Burke, founder of Geometry in Construction and AMPED on Algebra, integrates core academics with CTE. Scott and his team have trained hundreds of teachers across the country to integrate geometry, algebra (and soon algebra 2) into a CTE curriculum.

Presenter: Scott Burke
Construction Teacher, Green Mountain High School, Lakewood, CO
Founder, Geometry in Construction
2021 Grand Prize Winner, Harbor Freight Tools for Schools Prize for Teaching Excellence

Student-Led Community Impact Projects Webinar (11/29/2022)
Summary: In this webinar, we cover how educators can empower students to use their skilled trades knowledge to address a community need. Three prior prizewinners share examples of outstanding projects from their automotive, carpentry/construction and manufacturing classrooms. All three have completed successful and inspiring student-led community impact projects within the past year, giving their students ample opportunity to exercise leadership and management skills alongside their hands-on skilled trades training.

Presenters:

Jay Abitz
Automotive Collision Repair Teacher, Freedom High School, Freedom, WI
2021 Prize for Teaching Excellence Winner

Brian Copes
Manufacturing Teacher, Chickasaw High School, Chickasaw, AL
2021 Prize for Teaching Excellence Winner

Randy Williamson
Carpentry/Construction Teacher, Williamsport Area High School, Williamsport, PA
2017 Prize for Teaching Excellence Winner

For questions about our webinar series, please email admin@hftforschools.org