Skip to content

Harbor Freight Tools for Schools Announces 54 Semifinalists for 2017 Prize for Teaching Excellence

We are pleased to announce the semi-finalists for the 2017 Harbor Freight Tools for Schools Prize for Teaching Excellence. These 54 semi-finalists comprised of public high school teachers and teacher teams hail from across the country. The judges who reviewed the first round of applications were overwhelmed with the level of interest and creativity. 

Please see below for the semi-finalists who will advance to the next round of competition for one of 10 prizes—three first-place prizes of $100,000, with $70,000 going to the high school skilled trades program and $30,000 to the individual teacher/team, and seven second-place prizes of $30,000, with $20,000 to the high school program and $10,000 to the teacher/team.

Roxanne Amiot

Bullard Havens THS, CT


Thomas Aubin



Bobby Bard

Franklin County Career and Tech Center, PA


Jim Barnett

South Garland High School, TX


Stephen Beattie

West Milford Township High School, NJ


Ryan Beckley

East Syracuse Minoa Central High School, NY


Adam Bourne

The NET Charter School, LA


Louis Bramante

Vineland Senior High School, NJ


Rick Burton

Greene County Career Center, OH


Jeff Canterbury

Washington County Career Center, OH


Michael Castleberry

Locklin Technical High School, FL


Jeff Cesari

Bucks County Technical High School, PA


Brian Collier and Tristan Kumor

Ridgewood High School, IL


Scott Combs

Eastern Monroe Career Center, NY


Robin Coyne

Monterey High School, CA


Travis Crate

Venango Technology Center, PA


Wes Crawford and Josh Gary

Sutherlin High School, OR


Brad DeMent

Delaware Career Center, OH


Jerry Eaton

Meek Professional Technical High School, OR


Matt Erbach

Streamwood High School, IL


Michael Fleming

Monte Vista High School, CA


Kory Fontes

Nipomo High School, CA


Ken Gandy, Ed Hensley, and Gary Pommier

Olathe Advanced Technical Center, KS


Daniel Gersbach and Daniel Bradley

Finger Lakes Technical and Career Center, NY


Lukas Gill

Holland Central Schools, NY


Robert Harris

Jordan Vocational High School, GA




Ed Hughes

Sheboygan Falls High School, WI


Bob Kilmer

Enumclaw High School, WA


Brian Kurszewski

New London High School, WI


Andrew Lamer

Mingus Union High School, AZ


Brendan Malone

Urban Assembly New York Harbor School, NY


Brian Marvin

Northwestern Alaska Career and Technical Center, AK


Joel Massarello

Oakland Schools Technical Campus Northwest, MI


Scott Mayotte

Concord Regional Technical Center, NH


Jeff Merker

Sheldon High School, CA


Anthony Migliorini

Northview High School, IN


Don Murrell

Garden City High School, KS


Timothy Regan and Mark Levy

Bergen County Technical Schools, NJ


Bryan Ringsted

Campbell Union High School, CA


Amancio Rodriguez

Jonny G. Economedes High School, TX


Tom Rose

Bagdad High School, AZ


Steve Schertz

South Elgin High School, IL


Jonathan Schwartz

Colfax High School, CA


Ronald Skaggs and Justin Martzke

Norte Vista High School, CA


Cole Smith and Bill Hartman

Rancho Cotate High School, CA


Brian Sneed

Cordova High School, TN


Gregory Stephanos

Leominster High School Center for Technical Education, MA


Patrick Wadsworth and Gerald Huffman

Gulfport High School, MS


George Wertz

Deming High School, NM


Robert David White

Parkside High School, MD


Galen Wilson, RJ Horacek, and Krysten Renihan

Westfield Technical Academy, MA


Randy Williamson

Williamsport Area High School, PA


Joseph Wolfe

Thomas Edison High School, VA


Keith Yow

Cedar Ridge High School, NC

We will announce the finalists on Oct. 10 and the winners on Oct. 26.